Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Computer name

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Computer name

    Dear users!

    Is it possible that my client can get its computer name from any server just like DHCP server? wht

    abt WINS/DNS server? Actually i want my client can get IP and Computer name from servers, How?

  • #2
    Re: Computer name

    Hi, it's not possible to get a computer name via dhcp.
    Please remember to award reputation points if you have received good advice.
    I do tend to think 'outside the box' so others may not always share the same views.

    MCITP -W7,
    MCSA+Messaging, CCENT, ICND2 slowly getting around to.

    Comment


    • #3
      Re: Computer name

      Maybe if we knew what client operating systems you were using. Or what server operating system. Or what DHCP server. Or what the configuration of your systems is. Presumably as you're posting in this forum, you are using Windows clients with Windows servers, using the Windows DHCP server, either with or without Active Directory.

      Originally posted by uk_network View Post
      Hi, it's not possible to get a computer name via dhcp.
      Yes it is. If your DHCP server supports this feature, and your clients support this feature.
      Gareth Howells

      BSc (Hons), MBCS, MCP, MCDST, ICCE

      Any advice is given in good faith and without warranty.

      Please give reputation points if somebody has helped you.

      "For by now I could have stretched out my hand and struck you and your people with a plague that would have wiped you off the Earth." (Exodus 9:15) - I could kill you with my thumb.

      "Everything that lives and moves will be food for you." (Genesis 9:3) - For every animal you don't eat, I'm going to eat three.

      Comment


      • #4
        Re: Computer name

        oh right, cool.
        I was talking about the windows dhcp console.
        Do u know how to do this then? I'll test it.
        Please remember to award reputation points if you have received good advice.
        I do tend to think 'outside the box' so others may not always share the same views.

        MCITP -W7,
        MCSA+Messaging, CCENT, ICND2 slowly getting around to.

        Comment


        • #5
          Re: Computer name

          Originally posted by alitoday View Post
          Dear users!

          Is it possible that my client can get its computer name from any server just like DHCP server? wht

          abt WINS/DNS server? Actually i want my client can get IP and Computer name from servers, How?
          gee how come your Reputation is -172, what did you do wrong?

          Comment


          • #6
            Re: Computer name

            Originally posted by uk_network View Post
            I was talking about the windows dhcp console
            2000? 2003? 2003 R2? Service pack? Active directory? What client OS? Ie, all the other questions I asked in my initial reply.
            Gareth Howells

            BSc (Hons), MBCS, MCP, MCDST, ICCE

            Any advice is given in good faith and without warranty.

            Please give reputation points if somebody has helped you.

            "For by now I could have stretched out my hand and struck you and your people with a plague that would have wiped you off the Earth." (Exodus 9:15) - I could kill you with my thumb.

            "Everything that lives and moves will be food for you." (Genesis 9:3) - For every animal you don't eat, I'm going to eat three.

            Comment


            • #7
              Re: Computer name

              2003 server, Sp2, AD,DNS, DHCP usual setup, nothing else.

              XPP Sp2 clients.
              Please remember to award reputation points if you have received good advice.
              I do tend to think 'outside the box' so others may not always share the same views.

              MCITP -W7,
              MCSA+Messaging, CCENT, ICND2 slowly getting around to.

              Comment


              • #8
                Re: Computer name

                Then no, it isn't. You have to set the hostname when you join the computer to the domain.
                Gareth Howells

                BSc (Hons), MBCS, MCP, MCDST, ICCE

                Any advice is given in good faith and without warranty.

                Please give reputation points if somebody has helped you.

                "For by now I could have stretched out my hand and struck you and your people with a plague that would have wiped you off the Earth." (Exodus 9:15) - I could kill you with my thumb.

                "Everything that lives and moves will be food for you." (Genesis 9:3) - For every animal you don't eat, I'm going to eat three.

                Comment


                • #9
                  Re: Computer name

                  My original reply was based on the forum the question was asked in.

                  And i've never seen anything before where u can get your computer name by dhcp, so i was just curious.
                  Please remember to award reputation points if you have received good advice.
                  I do tend to think 'outside the box' so others may not always share the same views.

                  MCITP -W7,
                  MCSA+Messaging, CCENT, ICND2 slowly getting around to.

                  Comment


                  • #10
                    Re: Computer name

                    Originally posted by Ali
                    Is it possible that my client can get its computer name from any server just like DHCP server
                    Just to go a bit, the SBS /connectcomputer Wizard can sort of do that. But I digress. Best option I have used is Ghost Console. Not only names the PC but joins the sucker to the Domain as well.

                    Ali, here are some excellent tutorials on how the "servers" you have mentioned above actually work.

                    DHCP - http://www.trainsignal.com/index.asp...WPROD&ProdID=9
                    DNS - http://www.trainsignal.com/index.asp...WPROD&ProdID=8
                    WINS - http://www.trainsignal.com/index.asp...PROD&ProdID=10

                    Train Signal's products are an Excellent One (like you signature) and you can view their excellent products here. http://www.trainsignal.com/index.asp...on=Custom&ID=8
                    1 1 was a racehorse.
                    2 2 was 1 2.
                    1 1 1 1 race 1 day,
                    2 2 1 1 2

                    Comment


                    • #11
                      Re: Computer name

                      It's DHCP option 12 in Microsoft's DHCP server.
                      Gareth Howells

                      BSc (Hons), MBCS, MCP, MCDST, ICCE

                      Any advice is given in good faith and without warranty.

                      Please give reputation points if somebody has helped you.

                      "For by now I could have stretched out my hand and struck you and your people with a plague that would have wiped you off the Earth." (Exodus 9:15) - I could kill you with my thumb.

                      "Everything that lives and moves will be food for you." (Genesis 9:3) - For every animal you don't eat, I'm going to eat three.

                      Comment


                      • #12
                        Re: Computer name

                        Good guess but it isnt supported on windows clients.
                        Please remember to award reputation points if you have received good advice.
                        I do tend to think 'outside the box' so others may not always share the same views.

                        MCITP -W7,
                        MCSA+Messaging, CCENT, ICND2 slowly getting around to.

                        Comment


                        • #13
                          Re: Computer name

                          Which I've already made clear earlier in the thread.
                          Gareth Howells

                          BSc (Hons), MBCS, MCP, MCDST, ICCE

                          Any advice is given in good faith and without warranty.

                          Please give reputation points if somebody has helped you.

                          "For by now I could have stretched out my hand and struck you and your people with a plague that would have wiped you off the Earth." (Exodus 9:15) - I could kill you with my thumb.

                          "Everything that lives and moves will be food for you." (Genesis 9:3) - For every animal you don't eat, I'm going to eat three.

                          Comment

                          Working...
                          X