Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Changed PW - Worked yesterday, not today

Hi all,

I am new to a position in charge of an AD domain at a school. Previously, they had an outside contractor who, at the moment, I cannot get in touch with. I'm hoping he'll call today.

Anyway, the administrators of the school had a top priority of me taking over access to the domain and transitioning fully from this other guy. Well, it's a pretty simple domain with a single DC and that's about it.

Yesterday, I took the info the contractor gave me as a login and logged in no sweat. I then changed the PW for that very account. I logged off and back on with the new PW and all was fine. I even went to a client machine on the LAN and logged in there as well.

Now this morning, I cannot login as that user (lfdcsadmin) on the server or any other computer. I don't know if the contractor had a backdoor and changed something after I did or what, but it no longer works and until I get in touch with him (assuming he even calls, and then assuming he DID actually change something), I'm locked out of my own domain as an admin.

This admin user (lfdcsadmin) is a member of Domain Admins and Enterprise Admins. Is there any other way I can get into this server?

HELP PLEASE!

Thanks!

Chris

Re: Changed PW - Worked yesterday, not today

Hi Chris, that does sound a bit suspicious to me!!
    However I'd suggest you don't do anything before you have spoken to this guy (If he makes himself contactable that is). I'm pretty sure he'd have another Admin account details as a plan B.
    If you don't get anywhere with him then you can use the resources provided here :http://www.petri.com/reset_domain_ad...er_2003_ad.htm

Cheers
    Caesar's cipher - 3

ZKHQ BRX HYHQWXDOOB GHFLSKHU WKLV BRX ZLOO UHDOLVH LW ZDV D ZDVWH RI WLPH!

SFX JNRS FC U6 MNGR

Comment

It may just be locked out because a service was usign it as the credentials to start or operate with.
      cheers
      Andy