Workstations unable to browse server

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Workstations unable to browse server

I have a new server with a fresh install of Server 2003 R2 in a workgroup setting with five workstations. The workstations lose the ability to browse the server after a few hours.

The server works properly and has no errors logged in the event viewer. The workstations can ping the server but cannot browse by NetBIOS name or IP.

Because this is not an Active Directory installation, I do not have DNS installed or WINS for that matter. DNS points to the default gateway and everything works fine for a few hours.

I am not too experienced with stand-alone servers in a workgroup setting. Should I install DNS and WINS? The primary purpose of the server is to share a database application. Security is not an issue and that is why it was not installed as a DC.

Suggestions are welcomed
    Network Engineers do IT under the desk

Re: Workstations unable to browse server

Can't browse by NETBIOS or IP? If that's true then it doesn't sound like a name resolution problem.

You can check to see if it's able to resolve the server by pinging it by name or IP address with the -a switch.
    Code:
    ping -a 1.2.3.4
    I know you probably already checked this but are you running a firewall or AV client? Are all the proper exceptions made?
    Regards,
    Jeremy

Network Consultant/Engineer
    Baltimore - Washington area and beyond
    www.gma-cpa.com

Comment

A few things come to mind, namely Windows services and firewall settings.

As to the former, could something be shutting down networking services for some odd reason? Maybe run a "sc query state= >> runservices.txt" before and after the problem occurs and compare the results.

As to the latter, are TCP ports 135, 137, and 138, as well as UDP port 139 blocked? (Thanks to this article for what ports NetBIOS runs on).

Are any other networking services going wonky? RDP, ftp, etc..