Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Reseaching Rights for Workstations PLEASE HELP ASAP!!

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Reseaching Rights for Workstations PLEASE HELP ASAP!!

Hey guys im a bit into a slump

ok i have been working on a server for a client who has about 10+ workstatoins that use proprietary software to log a database on the server using SQL.

so heres my problem each machine needs to have registry rights and prolly some some other rights as well for ex: rights to install software. im still kinda new to the whole AD System and i understand that u can put each workstation as a Admin to there own personal PC that which wont affect the server or server setttings. so how do i set the client workstations to have Admin rights or full rights to there own workstations? while using there indavidual profile names.

now i've add each user profile to every possble group that would admin capablities however that only works on a windows 2000 server not a windows 2003 server, at least thats my understanding

here are the server details.

scsi base server windows 2003

Client stations
    5 xp and 2 win 98 and 2 vista

also im haveing issuses getting Vista to join the domain something with the DNS not recoized or something PLEASE HELP ASAP!!

Re: Reseaching Rights for Workstations PLEASE HELP ASAP!!

If you have been adding users to every group then you will likely cause major problems, I really hope you made a record of your changes?

Local administrators has a group on each PC therefore you can add an individual to the local group by logging onto the machine as an administrator and right-click and select manage when over the My Computer icon. This then shows you the Users and Groups entries. You can use the Administrators Group and add in the users.

Win98 is very different and everyone has full rights unless you start using policies.

With the Vista issue we will need more information including the exact error message.