No announcement yet.

Server 2003 issues

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Server 2003 issues

I posted up a few days ago and the topic disappeared along with my username so I created the same one and am posting up further about my issue.

Ok, there is a 2000 Sever in place. I was brought in to help out in installing the 2003 Server. We are not doing a migration or upgrade because the current IT guy doesn't want most of the active directory structure that is there as well as some other things. Anyway, I'm new to the whole MS side of things as I started out learning about 5 years ago on Novell (CNE 3 & 4), got into programming, then tech support while working with Sun OS.
    We are setting up the server to have the same gateway, etc. of the old. We brought down the 2000 server yesterday to try to get the 2003 to working. At this point I can see the outside world (Yahoo, etc.) and a list of Clients that it recognizes. The thing is that I can't get a client to login to the server. I created the user in active directory and it looks like it should work. On the client side I can see the new server (ECDLP for example) under entire network and some default folders it appears but I can't login to the server. When I left it last night it was saying that it didn't have enough accounts when I tried logging in. Any tips would be greatly appreciated. I'm learning all of this as I go so it isn't easy. Thanks!

Hi again!

> The thing is that I can't get a client to login to the server

Right. Remember that AD depends heavily on DNS. Check these things.

- the client PC points to the new DC for DNS
    - the client PC is a member of the new domain
    - the new DC points to itself for DNS, and has a forwarder to the outside world.

Whats the exact error message you are getting when attempting to log into the domain as a user?
      UK Newbie!