DNS issue

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• DNS issue

Hi. I'm new at this sorta stuff so please bear with me.

I have a dedicated server. I made a WS2003 R2 EE installation, made it into an AD/DC. I have 2 IP's given to me by the hoster, and have 2 DNS IP's also, which i manually configured in the network settings for the LAN.

I want to install Exchange. Ran dcdiag and fixed a couple of the issues, all fine, now running netdiag I get an error and no idea how to fix it.

DNS test . . . . . . . . . . . . . : Failed
    [WARNING] The DNS entries for this DC are not registered correctly on DNS se
    rver 'DNS.FIRST.IP.HERE'. Please wait for 30 minutes for DNS server replication.
    rver 'DNS.SECOND.IP.HERE'. Please wait for 30 minutes for DNS server replication.
    [FATAL] No DNS servers have the DNS records for this DC registered.

Re: DNS issue

You want all computers that are part of your domain pointing at the DNS server running on the Windows 2003 Server. The 2003 server will resolve names for external sites for you client workstations etc.

Your server should be using DNS 127.0.0.1.
    Workstations should be using the IP of the Windows 2003 Server as their DNS.

You could also add your ISP's DNS servers to the "forwarding" tab within DNS on the Windows 2003 Server.
    Please remember to leave positive reputation points (The Ying Yang Icon) if someone helps you.

Comment

thank-you

well, there will NOT be any other computers joining to the domain.... it will just be this computer that is the AD/DC

what do I do in this case, and to resolve that netdiag error?

I have 2 DNS "Preferred servers" entries in the network configuration, and a default gateway added as well as the IP Address and subnet mask.

I also did what you said anyway however that still didn't work and gave me a timeout_error on 127.0.0.1 when running the netdiag tool. :-/
      Last edited by firehawk; 15th March 2008, 12:12.

Comment