Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Accessing a server remotely (was:Newbie Help)

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Accessing a server remotely (was:Newbie Help)

Hey all,

I'm a new Computer Science teacher, and my students want to make and learn how to use a server. We would like to be able to ultimately:

- store files for each user (which we can do now - but not from their homes)
    - access the box remotely (which I can do from inside the school walls - but not from home)
    - upload websites to it to test php and mysql scripts
    - run a game on it (like Unreal or something like that)

So, I don't know how to access the box from home. I assume I have to find an open port? How do I do that (considering I am in a school)?

Sorry for the ignorant questions but I don't really know where to go from here.

Thanks!

Re: Newbie Help

- Hamachi
    - Remote Desktop (port 3389) or VNC (5900). Talk to the network admin for the school as these may not be allowed through the firewall (if there is one)
    - FTP (Port 21) or Hamachi, which means configuring IIS Services, MySQL, PHP, etc...
    - Hosting a game server... You will need to make note of the Port that is used when going through the game software installation.

Also, you will need to know your Public IP address. Your network admin should be able to tell you what it is or assign one to you. He may need to do NAT and/or PAT on the main router/firewall.
    Jake G

Former Microsoft MVP - IIS ('02-'06)

Comment

Re: Newbie Help

Considering you want to run a server within the school's network, I'd definitely talk to the school / school district's network admin. They can figure out a way to do this, but stay within the school's tight network.
      ** Remember to give credit where credit is due and leave reputation points where appropriate **

Comment

Re: Accessing a server remotely (was:Newbie Help)

Next time read the forum rules and pick a better thread topic for your posts: