Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Cleaning-up Poor 2003 Server Configurations

Aloha, folks!

I'm working with a client - in the process of auditing the network, I discovered many issues left behind by the former IT person. I've been pretty effective (and QUITE fortunate) in solving most of the problems, but one lingers on and I'm having some trouble trying to correct it. I've been trolling Petri for many years, and the help here has been tremendous. Niceties out of the way, let's press on

Client has a single 2K3 DC, currently doing all the DNS/DHCP/Active Directory duties.

Former IT person named the domain and DNS with clients registered DNS name...i.e., businessname.com. Causes some problems when it IS NOT the host for the clients website!

So, interim fix was to configure the DC to use the ISPs DNS server - not a good thing, I know, but they needed to get up and running.

Now, AD doesn't play nicely across the domain, since the server's configured with the TLD of .com. I looked at the process from Microsoft for doing a domain rename in 2K3, but since there's only ONE server (client is unable to buy more, since they're a non-profit) and transferring the AD info to a second DC is gonna be hard.

Any recommendations? Help? Direction? Advice?

Mahalo in advance,

Doug

Re: Cleaning-up Poor 2003 Server Configurations

Obviously not spent enough time trolling.

Have a look at this and see if this is what you are wanting to do? http://www.petri.com/windows_2003_domain_rename.htm

How many clients are running off the DC?
    1 1 was a racehorse.
    2 2 was 1 2.
    1 1 1 1 race 1 day,
    2 2 1 1 2

Comment

Thanks, biggles - I found that, but was hoping there might be a more streamlined (read: easier for me!) method. I even went as far as downloading all the links from Microsoft; but that's where I ran into the "second DC issue", and hoped that since this domain is so flat, there might be a better way to do it.