SYSVOL share issue? 2 DC server 2003 environment

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• SYSVOL share issue? 2 DC server 2003 environment

Alright I wasn't sure where to classify this question as it is causing issues across multiple platforms and services. I think I've narrowed it down to a SYSVOL share problem so I put it here. This is the situation:

I am a new Network Administrator at a company, been here for a few months so I'm still getting used to our environment. But we have a small IT dept and the old Network Admin is gone, so I only have limited documentation about why things were done the way they were. At one location we have two domain controllers with the following configuration-

PDC: Server 2003
    name: usm
    Running: DHCP, AD, & DNS

DC: Server 2003 SP2
    name: tam
    Running: DNS & AD

I originally found a couple of issues due to a Vista machine randomly logging on to a temp account. While tracking down event logs on the Vista machine, I looked into events on the DC's. On the server named "usm" (the PDC) I noticed the following events:

ID: 1080
    Category: Userenv
    Description: Windows cannot search for Organizational Unit hierarchy. (52). Group Policy processing aborted.

ID: 1030
    Description: Windows cannot query for the list of Group Policy objects. Check the event log for possible messages previously logged by the policy engine that describes the reason for this.

ID: 1006
    Description: Windows cannot bind to xyz.com domain. (Local Error). Group Policy processing aborted.

ID: 1054
    Description: Windows cannot obtain the domain controller name for your computer network. (The specified domain either does not exist or could not be contacted. ). Group Policy processing aborted.

Also there are DCDiag errors:

Starting test: NetLogons
    Unable to connect to the NETLOGON share! (\\USM\netlogon)