Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need Help ASAP - Server 2003 / NAT

Hello everyone,
    This is my first time on the forums and I did do a search to see if I could find an answer on my topic but couldn't find a solution.

Here's my problem:
    I am freelancing for a company that just had a motherboard go out on their main 2003 Server. This server handles DNS, DHCP, IP Routing, and NAT. I replaced out the motherboard, and reinstalled all components, including the 2nd nic (their external one). All clients can access the server to include mapped shares, but no one can get out to the internet. This is also haulting all emails obviously. Here is the setup:

1.) Internal NIC -- 192.168.1.225 / 255.255.255.0 / DG 192.168.1.225
    External NIC -- Obtained Dynamically from ISP

2.) When I disable the internal NIC, I can surf just fine from the Server.

Is there some captain obvious mistake I've made here, or should I blow away NAT and redo it?

Re: Need Help ASAP - Server 2003 / NAT

It seems to me that the default gateway is the problem. Remove the DG from the internal NIC and see if that helps.

Comment

Will it operate correctly without the default gateway in place on the internal nic? Sorry kind of a noob here on the network side of things.
      Let me clarify the situation.

All clients hook into a switch which hooks into the internal nic of the router. DHCP is setup to give address in the range of 192.168.1.10-192.168.1.254 excluding obviously 225 and a few others reserved for network printers, etc. What should the default gateway to the internal NIC be set at, and is there any changes that should be made under routing and remote access. Like I said everything was working fine until the MOBO went out on the server and I replaced it. Used the same MOBO (same chipset) so nothing needed to be reinstalled.
      Last edited by J-Smoothy; 14th January 2008, 16:41.

Comment