Removing 2K DC and renaming Server 2003 machine

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Removing 2K DC and renaming Server 2003 machine

I have the following scenario and need to know what is the best way to accomplish it.

I have 2 DCs one parent (server-alpha) and one child (server-beta). I have added two new server 2003 machines and promoted them to DC to replace these (alpha1 to replace server-alpha and beta1 to replace server-beta). I have transferred all of the FSMO roles and transferred data and shares. What I want to do is rename the new DCs to the old names (I have several apps that point to the old name and data paths are mapped to the old names).

Can I change the name of the old servers while they are a DC? Should I?

What would be the most effective way to accomplish this task. I am not an expert with DCs, but I can read and follow directions well.

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Re: Removing 2K DC and renaming Server 2003 machine

1. Make sure that new DCs are GC and DNS.

2. Stop "netlogon" on old DCs for some time to ensure that new DCs are working fine.

3. Once sure, demote the old DCs.

4. Make sure all the entries are removed specific to old DCs.

Just check 19 and 20 number in Procedure 1........

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/216498

5. Rename the DCs, no issues at all.......

Feel free to ask if specific information is needed......

Regards,
    Kapil Sharma
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Life is too short, Enjoy It.

Comment

Once I stop netlogon on the old DCs, will people still have access to the files on those machines? Will this force all logon and logoff traffic to the new DCs?

Comment

Yes... All the access will remain as it is.

Netlogon is just for domain authentication and clients will continue to be authenticated from new DC and that is waht we want to ensure........

Regards,
        Kapil Sharma
        ~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Comment