Setting up and Mapping Network Drives

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Setting up and Mapping Network Drives

Hi guys. Please I need your help. I’m a newbie at this so you guys bear with me.

I have a Windows Server 2000 network, and I have to set up network drives on it. I can do it manually, but it's exhausting. Also, when I do it that way, other users can map to other users' drives, probably set permissions all wrong but I’ll fix that one.

I was reading the forums and guys mentioned the Net Use command. Where do I run this command? I ran the gpedit.msc command, accessed the logon scripts section, typed in the name of the logon script then got stuck. There was the parameter text field, is this where I type in the Net Use command?

I created the Shared Folder on the server, but couldn't go further than this.

How do I create the .cmd file or .bat file? Then what do I do next?

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Edited to add..

I created a new OU and two users on it for testing.I can access the Group Policy from Properties,and I can create a new logon script,but I don't know where the Net Use command is typed.Is it at the parameter field?I also fixed the permissions problem.

Edited again to add..

I managed to create a batch file,set up the thing and the two users I created can access the network drive and save to it.

But here's the problem...The users can view each other's files!!This is a college network.I don't want the students seeing each other's work.Also,since I named the shared folder "Share",the network drive is "Share on Server..."I want it to be the user's name.

What will i need?A vbscript?

Cheers guys!
    Last edited by Giodino; 4th January 2008, 09:57.

Re: Setting up and Mapping Network Drives

The net use command with parameters you would be required to run to map a network drive would be:

Code:
    net use <drive letter> <\\server\\share>