Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Routing and remote access help!

Hi

first let me introduce myself. My name is keri and im an IT networks engineer consultant in camden and im very happy to be a part of what looks to be an amazing and well informed IT forum.

my question is this.....

I am in charge of a WAN which consists of 5 main sites all based in London. Now the each site has 2 adsl line and 2 cisco 800 series routers. The network domain servers (windows 2003 not R2 Edition) are connected thru a vpn via one cisco router at each site. Its based on a star network with the main domain controller in the middle and the other 4 connecting directly back to it. Each site was configured with one network ip range (ie 192.168.200.0/24, 192.168.201.0/24, 192.168.202.0/24, etc etc). The routers can see each other router from the way the vpn has been set up within them - this was done by another 3rd party company). Exchange 2003 is also installed on all servers with certain inboxs homed at each server. The servers also run DFS accross the WAN.

Let me explain the jobs the routers did......router A (was used for the servers VPN tunnel. It was used for DFS to work, email exchanges and any communications between the other servers. Router B was used for the special internet access for the clients which needed certain protected sites to load (you could just call this internet connection for the users) The servers didnt ever use this line.

Now before any changed were made the networks were happy, all clients were connected up in their network using dns and dhcp off the server and that was fine. Shared network drives would load up from login. All was good. Now the problem started.....