Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

DNS question (I dont know if need to worry...)

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• DNS question (I dont know if need to worry...)

I'm new at this work, so a lot of things here were the work of formers admins, a few of them very rare, like this one:

- Two domain controllers, both are GC, and both are DNS servers.
    - Although they are on different physical sites, I dont need to put them logically on different sites (bandwith is not an issue). So they are there just for redundancy.

I was yesterday checking a problem for some guy at it security dept, that they surfcontrol filter doesn't like our dns server or is having some problems. I went down to check my dns servers and indeed I found something rare: both of them where pointing to each for name resolution, like:

DC1 ip dns server ->DC2
    DC2 ip dns server ->DC1

What I always did every time I got to do a new forest/domain (and thought it was a best practice) was to point the DC to itself for name resolution, and if it where to resolve outside address, configure fowarding.

well I put everything like I liked, but when I got to the DNS console on both domain controllers I saw what you can see on the attachment. I always saw that folder with the _MSDCS records **inside** of the AD zone, not outside. what do you think about it, should I be worry about this?? as a sidenote, I also must point that I cannot ping the name of the domain, I mean the netbios name, i.e. the domain is fulano.com I cant ping fulano

Thanks for looking
    Angelo
    Attached Files

Re: DNS question (I dont know if need to worry...)

Hi Angelo,

I would ALWAYS point each DC to itself for DNS when they are DNS servers, that way all of the correct SRV records get registered etc...

Also, the _MSDCS zone will appear under the domain zone if the domain has been upgraded from, or is, Windows 2000.

As long as you have the zone, all will be fine!
    MCSA/MCSE 2000
    MCSA/MCSE 2003