No announcement yet.

Help - Setting up Windows Server 2003 with two network cards.

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help - Setting up Windows Server 2003 with two network cards.

First of all I am so, so sorry if this has been asked before and I would greatly appreatiate it if somebody would direct me into the correct forum thread where the question was asked and aswered.
    But as it is, I have searched through the forum for a while and I couldn't find the "correct" question or answer that I have been looking for.

..onto the quesition, but first I have some background to tell in order to clear a few things out:

Next week I am having an exam. This exam will last for the whole week where on Monday I will write a plan of what to do the other four days.
    On Tuesday (or monday if there is time) I will begin the exercise.

The exam is about Computers (obviously), but I don't know what it will be about in detail. All I know is what I've heard from previous participants. The exam is changed all the time though, so what I am about to write next is based on fact I have heard and the average exam content I've collected from these facts.

Setup a server. - I am going to use Windows Server 2003 as this is what I have available.
    Setup two clients. - I am going to use Windows XP for this.
    Clients must not be able to see each other. - I was originally planning on setting up VLans, but we didn't have any switches with vlan support available. So now the only other option I can think of is to use two network cards.

This is basically the information that you need in order to understand some of the history behind this post.

I got to know of only yesterday, and I have learned very much about Server 2003 during that one day.
    You may wonder, and I will answer: I have never used Windows Server 2003 before.