Server 2003 tower move

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Server 2003 tower move

First post here. Looking for some help / options. I've never done this before so here goes. I currently have a old pentium II machine running server 2003 and is a domain controller. We are needing to update to some newer software that won't run with on the current hardware. I'm going to buy a new server this week and need to find out how to migrate ( correct word?? ) everything from the old one to the new one.

Can I simply install Server 2003 onto the new one. Perform a backup on the old one and restore it on the new one? I need to basically move everything just as it is from one machine to the other. Set up the new one just like the old one ip's and all.

I've looked ( google ) for somewhere that had a guide or how to but haven't found anything.

Thanks for your help, ideas, guidance.

Re: Server 2003 tower move

Best thing to do would be to build the new server and then add it to your network under and DCPROMO it to a Domain Controller. That was all Active Directory data will be replicated to the new DC (Give it a few hours to ensure everything has replicated across) You should also make a it a Global Catalgoue (Search the articles on this for what a Global Catalogue is)

Are you planning on keeping the other server a a Domain Controller or removing it ? (It's advised to keep it for redundancy incase one DC goes down the other can pick up the load)

If your not keeping the other DC then you need to transfer the FSMO roles (Once again, search the petri website) and then migrate any data across such as file shares (Google robocopy as this can help you and it keeps all security permissions)

Hope this helps

Michael
    Michael Armstrong
    www.m80arm.co.uk
    MCITP: EA, MCTS, MCSE 2003, MCSA 2003: Messaging, CCA, VCP 3.5, 4, 5, VCAP5-DCD, VCAP5-DCA, ITIL, MCP, PGP Certified Technician