No announcement yet.

I think DNS Problems

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I think DNS Problems

I have searched the net, goggled, searched TechNet and can't find anything for the correct way to set up the DNS IP addresses. I am not sure what IP Address goes where and I am self-taught and this is my first server. ON a PC or client I am good but servers I am lost so a lot of what I read I do not understand the lingo.

I volunteer for a Christian Academy, they asked me to clean up and maintain their computer network. Not a problem until the server failed and no backup. They were using an old HP server with NT and I figured if we had to build a server we'd upgrade to 2000 advanced servers. The old servers were in place for 15 years and never cleaned up and never worked correctly, always problems. So I set up two servers with windows 2000 advanced server.

I can connect to all clients, access files do anything I want except everything is really slow on the severs and accessing the net. On either server if I right click on My Network Connections it takes a long time to open, the internet is the same way, most pages load so slowly that I get a page not displayed error.

I have two servers, both were set up with AD and both are Domain Controllers.

I have the clients set up to point to the servers but I even tried it with no clients connected and just the two servers running. Same results, the system is just plain slow.

I think the problem is that I don't know what IP Addresses go where. I can find what they are for a single DC but not for two domain controllers. AND gateway, is this the ISPs IP Address or the IP Address of the router?

DHCP is not installed, Terminal services and WINS are but again I don't know what the IP addresses are to be used and in what order. The servers are set up "Per Seat".