Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• NTP in Windows 2003 server ent.

Hello.
    I use in some project 2 servers in cluster (configured in domain controllers).
    I have 10 clients connected to the cluster:
    5 - Windows XP based, and 5 Windows xp Embedded based.
    I want to sync all this clients to the TIME of the server (node 1, or node 2. I suppose if I'll shange time in one node, the other will change olso, doesn't it?)

I affraid to make a mistake in some configuration, and to fall down the servers. I'm new in this job.

If some one can help, I'll glad to receive some support.
    Thank you.

Re: NTP in Windows 2003 server ent.

Fortunately this is standard.

Create a batch logon or startup script including the line:
    net time \\timesrv /set /yes

where timesrv is the name of your server

Roll it out through a GPO and all clients will synchronise at logon or startup

For more info:
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/314090
    Tom Jones
    MCT, MCSE (2000:Security & 2003), MCSA:Security & Messaging, MCDBA, MCDST, MCITP(EA, EMA, SA, EDA, ES, CS), MCTS, MCP, Sec+
    PhD, MSc, FIAP, MIITT
    IT Trainer / Consultant
    Ossian Ltd
    Scotland

** Remember to give credit where credit is due and leave reputation points where appropriate **

Comment

I'm sorry for may be a stupid questions but -

In the BATCH file I need to write only this line or any additional lines?
      Server name - is the name of the claster, like test-test.local? or - fisical server name like NODE1 or NODE2?
      Is the same procedure needs to be done in Windows XP EMBEDDED?
      And like I can understand all this will sync the time only in login procedure, but how can I sync the time continuously? I mean, every time I change the time on one of nodes - it will change the time on all clients-is it posible?

and how to "Roll it out through a GPO"?

Thank you.

Comment

Hi Demon,