No announcement yet.

EFS decryption without any original keys !!!

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• EFS decryption without any original keys !!!

I have a few files which are encrypted using EFS in NTFS v5. I cannot decrypt these files as I do not have a key for it, I am a local Administrator. I have also tried logging on as Admin, but same errors occur.

If anyone knows of a utility that will 'crack' into my data so as to decrypt it, so I can work with it, it would be great.

You might want to log in as whoever encrypted them, export their key, and then log in as admin and use their key to read the files.
    May want to print this out.

Few steps for 2k (only set I've written up so far):
    Saving your Key
    1) Stay logged in as the user.
    2) Get a blank floppy diskette and put it in the disk drive.
    3) Click on Start, Run and type: mmc
    4) A console window will open up. Click on the Console menu, and then click on “Add/Remove Snap In”
    5) Click the Add button in the bottom left of the new window, and then select certificates and click Add.
    a. Select “My User Account” and click finish. Then close the Add Standalone Snap In window and the Add/Remove Snap In window.
    6) Click the + next to certificates, and then click the + next to personal.
    7) Single click on the Certificates in the left hand window.
    The certificates for the username should now be displayed on the right hand part of the window.
    9) Double click your certificate, and then click on the Details tab.
    10) Click the “Copy To File” button, and the certificate export wizard should show up.
    11) Click next, then make sure “Yes, Export the private key” is selected, and click next again.
    12) Make sure “Enable Strong Protection….” is checked, but nothing else is aside of “Personal Information Exhange…” and then click next