Migrating DC and Exchange Server to new machine

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Migrating DC and Exchange Server to new machine

I have a singel server acting as my DC and also running Exchange server. Yes I am now aware that is not advisable. I have 2 new servers which I would like to migrate my network onto. I am a beginning administrator at best and have been tasked with this job. Does anyone know of a step by step process for this procedure. I am not upgrading versions. I am currently running Server 2003 and Exchange Server 2003 both SP2. I would like to keep all the same settings but of course give the exchange server a different name and IP address. Thank you for your time.

Kerry Rock
    [email protected]

Re: Migrating DC and Exchange Server to new machine

Originally posted by krock112 View Post
    I have a singel server acting as my DC and also running Exchange server. Yes I am now aware that is not advisable. I have 2 new servers which I would like to migrate my network onto. I am a beginning administrator at best and have been tasked with this job. Does anyone know of a step by step process for this procedure. I am not upgrading versions. I am currently running Server 2003 and Exchange Server 2003 both SP2. I would like to keep all the same settings but of course give the exchange server a different name and IP address. Thank you for your time.

Kerry Rock
    [email protected]
    You have 1 old box, and 2 new boxes. You will build the 2 new boxes. One will be an exchange server, the other will be a domain controller.

What happens to the old box? retire? stay in place? rebuild to something else? I need to know that piece.
    VCDX3 #34, VCDX4, VCDX5, VCAP4-DCA #14, VCAP4-DCD #35, VCAP5-DCD, VCPx4, vEXPERTx4, MCSEx3, MCSAx2, MCP, CCAx2, A+
    boche.net - VMware Virtualization Evangelist
    My advice has no warranties. Follow at your own risk.

Comment

Kerry Rock
      [email protected]
      I've just done it.