No announcement yet.

2000 Domain and Exchange --> 2003

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 2000 Domain and Exchange --> 2003

I've posted about this back in December, and got some great responses.

I'm pretty new to a small company. 30-40 users.
    They had been running a 2000 Domain with Exchange, all on one box,
    Exchange and PDC all in one.

They bought a new server mid-late last year, put exchange 2003 on it.
    They had a kid doing their support, he built the 2003 machine, and started moving things over, but from what I can tell, he didn't really know what he was doing... but started the process anyway. He then got interupted, and after he got interupted, he left, and I inherited a bit of a mess.

He got half the FSMO roles transfered to the new 2003 server, but then stopped. Don't know why. He got the information stores moved over to the 2003 server, and I believe it is handling all the mail flow. But when we had a hardware glitch, and the old 2000 server came down, mail flow seemed to stop anyway.

I've convinced the company to split the roles, of exchange and PDC, so I now have another new machine to take over as 2003 PDC, so the exchange 2003 isn't doing that. I know we had some AD syncronization issues, but I think I've resolved those, and was scared as to what steps the kid may have missed, so have moved the FSMO roles back to the old 2000 Server, i guess my theory was get the domain so that everyone knew who was in charge, and then go from there, and I think I've done that.

So many questions!

Which Mess Do I clean up first? The domain and AD? or Exchange?

AD Questions:
    How can I tell what is this status of my domain?
    Do I have a 2000 domain with 2003 machines running on it?
    or a 2003 domain with a 2000 machine in charge of it?
    How can I tell how far the previous kid got through the 2000 --> 2003 AD upgrade? ADPrep Forest Prep, etc.