learn about 2003 or installing a site

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• learn about 2003 or installing a site

Hi, I am a new programmer in a small company. I need to learn fast how to make a site work. I have developed a (working) site on my XP Home VS2005. We just got a new server HP ProLiant350 that uses Win2003 IIS6. I tried but didn't succeeded doing it. Can you help me find a tutorial to learn quickly how to do that?

If it is simple to answer I will be happy to get your response here.
    The steps I took are:
    coping the entire site (written in asp.NET) to the folder
    c:/inetpub/wwwroot
    Adding the site to the IIS sites list.
    adding the first page (spellcheck.aspx) to the sit properties then the tab document.
    When I try to right click the site and press Browse. I get an error number 403.1 Forbidden: Execute access is denied.

Please tell me if there is a way to fix the problem.

Yigael Oscar

Re: learn about 2003 or installing a site

We're not in Matrix yet, you know... To learn how to do things, you have to take some time to read some documentation.
    I will try to help you though with your error message. Take a look at the attached screenshot. In your site's properties, see that the Execute drop down box is not on None.
    Hope this info helps.
    Last edited by sorinso; 9th November 2007, 21:29.

Sorin Solomon

In order to succeed, your desire for success should be greater than your fear of failure.
    -

Comment

Train Signal, http://www.trainsignal.com/index.asp...on=Custom&ID=8 for all your learning needs in this case.
      1 1 was a racehorse.
      2 2 was 1 2.
      1 1 1 1 race 1 day,
      2 2 1 1 2

Comment

Thank you all. I need a free learning book if possible.
        The solution worked to a point. Now I get 404 file or directory not found.

Yigael Oscar

Comment

Steady, steady...