Unable to run, access denied

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Unable to run, access denied

I do hope someone can help me. My situation is this.
    I have built a new W2K3 server, installed all of the patches, hotfixes and other downloads from Microsoft. As a Stand-alone server, I can connect to any share on my Domain and run any type of application.

After I join the server to the domain, I successfully log in and try to execute an application from any of the shares, I receive an error. The applications fail to run and I recieve an error stating that Access is denied due to invalid path or permissions.

I am a Domain Admin and an Enterprise Admin so I know it is not an issue with permissions. If I remove the server from the domain, I can then connect to the same share and successfully execute the same application.

I appreciate all the help I can get and Thank you in advance.

Re: Unable to run, access denied

What applications fail to run and why do you need to run them on a Domain Controller?
    1 1 was a racehorse.
    2 2 was 1 2.
    1 1 1 1 race 1 day,
    2 2 1 1 2

Comment

Check that your user (or one of the groups it is part of ) it's part of the local Administrators group.
      And come back with the result and some more details, please.

Sorin Solomon

In order to succeed, your desire for success should be greater than your fear of failure.
      -

Comment

Hi,

I had exactly this problem not long ago. When running a program that is located on the server (some programs need to be run from the server), and the client PC has IE7 installed, you need to change IE7. It sounds mad, I know, but it fixed it for me. My Solution: Go to IE7's Internet Options > Security and click Trusted Sites. Change the "Security Level For This Zone" to Low and apply. Now you can run programs that are situated on a server's share.