Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Defragment while BackingUp

Hello everybody,
    Before, let me say that this is my first time here, and, i registered because i were reading the Forums and liked very much what i saw.
    I think here i will be clarifie all my doubts.

Allright,
    My first doubt it's about drefragmentation of a Windows 2003 Server that is in a cluster.
    My system starts running a veritas backup at 00:00 because it's when the system got less traffic and because of the lesser traffic i got at this time i wish to run a disk defragmentation too.
    My questions is:
    - shoul i do this at the same time ?
    - it will make conflict with some thing?
    - what you guys advise me ?

Thank's and Regards

PS1: The veritas backup runs for about 8hours, it's big and it runs through the lan
    PS2: Sorry my BAD English

Cheers

Re: Defragment while BackingUp

Hi, BurnUp.
    Welcome to the club !!
    Regarding your question: I would not do these two operations in the same time. They are both I/O intensive, plus your backup is over the net, for a long time. Sounds like a tough job, even for a 2003 server.
    Are you backing up the server on a daily basis? If not, I would do the defrag sometime when a backup is not running. And once in a while.
    Hope this helps.
    Let's see what the other guys will say.

Sorin Solomon

In order to succeed, your desire for success should be greater than your fear of failure.
    -

Comment

8 hrs -- that's a while. What is your bottleneck? I'd work on that.

You taking full backups every night or full 1 day on the weekend and incremental / differential the other evenings?