Help Required Setting up Windows 2003 Server

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help Required Setting up Windows 2003 Server

Could someone describe or point me to a resource that will guide me through the installation and configuration of Windows 2003 Server?

I'm very new at this so a little nervous about undertaking an upgrade on our Office network.

I'll start by describing what we have now.

We have a computer running Windows NT4 Server hosting the LEWIS Domain for the simple purpose of file storage and access. This computer is very old and we want to replace it.

14 users of client PCs sign into the LEWIS domain and have access to files and folders saved on the server PC. These mainly consist of Word documents.

We plan to purchase a new PC and install Windows 2003 Server on it just to provide the same service as the one it replaces. I've never undertaken such an installation and would be very gratefull of some guidance, ideally a step by step guide!

Many thanks

John

Re: Help Required Setting up Windows 2003 Server

There's some great resources at www.petri.com

Install 2003
    http://www.petri.com/install_windows_2003.htm

Install Active Directory
    http://www.petri.com/how_to_install_...ndows_2003.htm

Use ADMT to migrate NT to 2003
    http://www.petri.com/active_director...ndows_2003.htm
    Note: ADMT v3 is available http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/d...displaylang=en
    Regards,
    Jeremy

Network Consultant/Engineer
    Baltimore - Washington area and beyond
    www.gma-cpa.com

Comment

I am sure you know this already but before you proceed make sure you have a complete working backup of NT4 just in case something bad happens you have something to fall back on.

Comment

Thanks for the replies.

I'm slowly building up the courage to do this myself and your help has been very useful.

The existing NT4 Server PC will simply be powered off and disconnected so if the worst comes to the worst, I can always just re-connect it.