X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• print remotely

Hi. I'm a network administrator "student" and we our computers and users
    are members of a Windows 2003 domain. The sales department has a one check-printing device, which is attached to a windows xp client workstation. That device isn't shared and when dhecks need to be issued, a staff member must log in to the computer using their domain account, and print checks locally. Person X is going to share the device so that authorized users can print remotely.

My friend ( other it-student ) says that
    1. a print device must be installed on every authorized user's computer
    2. printer drivers must be manually installed on every authorized user's computer
    3. physical security to the print device must be controlled
    4. printer drivers on client computers can be updated from a central location.

I don't believe him, are those statements true??

Re: print remotely

I don't know what you trying to ask.

2. printer drivers must be manually installed on every authorized user's computer
    1: In what kind of view? Quite normal is to share the printer on a Server.
    2: Depends on 1, however, if you share the printer on a server and you let the client connects to it, printer is installed.
    3: agree, always try controlling the security.
    4: Depends on different things.
    Marcel
    Technical Consultant
    Netherlands
    http://www.phetios.com
    http://blog.nessus.nl

MCITP(EA, SA), MCSA/E 2003:Security, CCNA, SNAF, DCUCI, CCSA/E/E+ (R60), VCP4/5, NCDA, NCIE - SAN, NCIE - BR, EMCPE
    "No matter how secure, there is always the human factor."

"Enjoy life today, tomorrow may never come."
    "If you're going through hell, keep going. ~Winston Churchill"

Comment

Let me have a crack at this: