Need info on different servers [Was: Hello, new user.]

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need info on different servers [Was: Hello, new user.]

Hey, i found this website and i hope it will help me through my dark wandering in the server world. i have a personal computer at home its a P-III 800mhz 256MB. i want to make a server out of it, its not going to host walla nor ynet, i am only learning how to manage a server and security for windows. i have installed microsoft server 2003 cuz i believe it will be better OS then windows XP, i wanted to install freebsd/linux but i have had a hard time config my modem (adsl ale130 bezeqint modem) because i have no router its harder. anyways, what server you recommend for personal use, not alot of traffic, that takes low computer resources and less vulnurable, IIS or apache for windows? i am going to build my website in the PHP langauge, so i will install php on the server also, and if you know a good firewall program, or the windows firewall is enough, later on i will add ftp server also. i saw there are wamp and xampp pakcages that inculdes everything but i wanna begin from scratch and to learn..

Thank you!

Re: Hello, new user.

I think you had better insert an apology in your post ilans for posting in the wrong forum and not reading the rules.
    This is the 2000/2003 Server forum Not the Hello forum try Coffee Lounge for saying Hi.

It is likely that Daniel will ban you for not reading the rules. Unless of course you send us all a large cheque.
    Last edited by AndyUK; 19th October 2006, 12:42.
    The Univurse is still winning!

W2K AD, WSUS, RIS 2003. ISA also AVG Server
    ** If contributors help you, recognise them and give reputation points where appropriate **

Comment

Re: reply to MR andyUK