Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Problem with ISA 2000

Hello!

I have some experience with ISA 2004, but not with ISA 2000 On this week I rebuilt our old server with SBS2003 and ISA 2000.
    Because before I never had a deal with ISA 2000, I have a problem and I don't know how to resolve it:
    when I connect remotely to that server via VPN, by some reason I cannot ping internal IP addresses. How to enable that ping ?
    Is this the big issue ? I mean that I can survive without that ping response, but I am just wondering how to enable ping for internal IPs ?
    Because, in fact, I have OWA up and running, all internal clients can access internet via proxy server, and skype can connect on local computers. From that I can assume that in general everthing is all right.
    But why I can't ping internal IPs when I am connected via VPN ?
    What I did: I added manual ping response for external card. It means that I can ping remotely external IP...but not internal...

please help!
    Thank you!
    Mihail
    regards,

Mihail Kravsun
    MCSA, CCNA

Re: Problem with ISA 2000

I don't remember that well but it may be that ISA2000 blocks ping .
    But i would ask further, if all your apps are working why do you need ping. More importantly, why are you using VPN when you could be using RWW (Remote Web Workplace). All you need for that is your firewall to forward ports 443 (SSL) and 4125 to your SBS server. You then connect by:
    https://<FQDN>/remote and you can get full control of your desktop from outside the organisation in a much safer way than using VPN
    TIA

Steven Teiger [SBS-MVP(2003-2009)]
    http://www.wintra.co.il/
    sigpic
    Iím honoured to have been selected for the SMB 150 list for 2013. This is the third time in succession (no logo available for 2011) that I have been honoured with this award.

We donít stop playing because we grow old, we grow old because we stop playing.

Comment