sbs 2003 -> 2011 server specs

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• sbs 2003 -> 2011 server specs

I am beginning plans to upgrade from SBS 2003 R2 to SBS 2011 Standard and have started spec'ing a new server.
    We currently have about 35 users and SBS is acting as Exchange, DNS, AD, DHCP, and File server. The
    only issues we've ever had have been with the Engineering department experiencing slow saves and
    general slowness using their CAD program. I am guessing this is due to the disk infrastruce generating
    low IOPS. Below are specs of our current box and prospective new box. Do you think this is way overkill
    for our uses? I don't plan to virtualize the box (at least not up front) because I have no experience
    with virtualization and it would only really give us the added benefit of easier disaster recovery -
    although, that would be nice, I'd have to get a third party consultant in to help me with that. Also, I
    had to pick Raid 5 because of some 3.6TB limitation on Raid 10 so I am going to purchase with Raid 5
    configured, then convert to Raid 10 when I get the box. From what I've read, that should work fine.
    Anyone have any suggestions or comments?

Current SBS 2003 R2 Box - PowerEdge 2900
    ================================================== =============
    2X Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU 5160 @ 3.00GHz
    8X 512MB DDR2 FB-DIMM-SYNCHRONOUS
    RAID 5
    PERC 5/i integrated(embedded)
    5X 150GB WDC WD1600JS-75NCB3 (I think these are Near-line SAS)
    2X Broadcom BCM5708C NetXtreme II GigE

Prospective SBS 2011 Box - PowerEdge R720
    ================================================== =============
    Intel® Xeon® E5-2640 2.50GHz, 15M Cache, 7.2GT/s QPI, Turbo, 6C, 95W, Max Mem 1333MHz
    32GB RDIMM, 1333 MHz, Low Volt, Quad Rank, x4
    RAID 1+RAID 5 for H710P/H710/H310 (2 + 3-14 HDDs)
    PERC H710 Integrated RAID Controller, 512MB NV Cache
    2X 300GB 10K RPM SAS 6Gbps 2.5in Hot-plug Hard Drive,3.5in HYB CARR