No announcement yet.

SBS 2011 Std - Unable to receive mails from external domains

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• SBS 2011 Std - Unable to receive mails from external domains

I'm not a techie, but having taken up the responsibility of learning and installing an in-house hosted server for our organization, I've downloaded and installed SBS 2011 Standard without any glitches.

Installation is fairly smooth.

But before I go on further, I've done the following before starting the installation:

1. DOMAIN is registered with a domain hosting company, and a static IP is obtained from our ISP (i'm using 4 MBPS 1:4 contention DSL/Wired-Broadband) for 40 users). Our domain is wwwdotOurCompanydotcom (this being my first post, I was not allowed to use dots between www and ourcompany, please dont mind, and please assume . in place of dot)

2. ISP has updated the PTR of our static IP address to :

3. The default MX records of the domain provider was deleted and added a new MX record as below (using domain control panel):

Name :
    Class : IN
    Type : MX
    Priority : 10
    Value : mail.OurCompany.Com
    TTL : 28800

Status of thee above record shows as "Active".

4. Added an A record as below:

Name : maildotOurCompanydotcom
    Type : A
    Value : {our-static-ip-quartet}
    TTL : 14400

Status of thee above record shows as "Active".

5. Added CNAME as below :

Name :
    Type : CNAME
    Value : wwwdotOurCompanydotcom
    TTL : 38400

Post Installation, I was able to successfully completed the following tasks listed on Windows SBS 2011 Standard Console :

A. Connect to internet - no warnings/errors
    B. Setup Internet Address - setup as mail.OurCompany.Com as the FQDN.

No errors, except the warnng received for not able to access to router to configure ports (coz of Cyberoam 25i firewall. - Port

However, I've also taken the help of our firewall guy for opening ports 25,80, 443 and 987 as listed in the documentation, no issues in this I guess.