Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• TS questions

hi,
    I have no experience of ts and would be grateful if somone can answer the following.
    We have an sbs2008 premium server running an app and with shared data folders - 13 local users.
    Am I correct in saying sbs prem comes with a licence to install another sbs server which can act as a ts?
    I have 5 remote users, who need to access the app and data folder.
    Can the 2 servers operate so that both the local and remote users access the app and data folders at same time?

Thanks,

Re: TS Tutorial

Hi,

Usually you will have additional Windows 2008 license. For using it as TS server, you will need to buy a TS client access license.
    You can use folder redirect feather to allow Windows Vista/7 and TS 2008/2008 R2 to share the folders.
    However, its recommended that you will test this implementation in a lab.
    Best Regards,

Yuval Sinay

LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/in/yuval14, Blog: http://blogs.microsoft.co.il/blogs/yuval14

Comment

Do you have enough "spare" machines in your LAN to use RWW (Remote Web Workplace) to access them remotely -- it is an alternative to setting up TS for a small number of users
      Tom Jones
      MCT, MCSE (2000:Security & 2003), MCSA:Security & Messaging, MCDBA, MCDST, MCITP(EA, EMA, SA, EDA, ES, CS), MCTS, MCP, Sec+
      PhD, MSc, FIAP, MIITT
      IT Trainer / Consultant
      Ossian Ltd
      Scotland

** Remember to give credit where credit is due and leave reputation points where appropriate **

Comment

yes rww is an option if we have spare pc's.
        just referring back to accessing a shared folder. Can I leave the folder on the sbs2008 server and have a desktop shortcut on the ts to which remote users connect and gain access to the data?

Comment

Yes - should be no problems -- and you should be able to pick up the local machines drives on the remote RWW connection to do file transfers
          Tom Jones