X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Migration from SBS 2003 R2 to Server 2008 R2 difficulties

Hi there,

I'm a newbie here and this is my first thread

I have encountered a difficulty in migrating from SBS 2003 R2 (Exchange was previously uninstalled) to Windows Server 2008 R2.

The company that I work for used the old SBS for a few years and since we no longer use local Exchange and wanted to refresh Hardware, we decided to buy a new machine and I installed a fresh copy of Windows 2008 R2 on it.

My boss and I started the migration to the new server and it seems that AD, DNS and DHCP synced nicely. However, when we wanted to demote the SBS we found that Sysvol at the 2008 R2 is empty and was not migrated. Upon further looking into the matter we also noticed that the Group Policy is full of SBS related objects that we won't use anymore.

All logs for the migration seems fine, but the Logon Server remained SBS...
    A few days ago SBS found out that its not the only DC in da hood and now, officially offended, decided to Shut Down on hourly basis...

Can someone please advise on how to sort these issues out?

SBS wants to retire...

All the best,

Barak.

Re: Migration from SBS 2003 R2 to Server 2008 R2 difficulties

What tool did you use for the Migration? Swing Migration, the Microsoft Transition Pack or something else?
    1 1 was a racehorse.
    2 2 was 1 2.
    1 1 1 1 race 1 day,
    2 2 1 1 2

Comment

An SBS server shouldn't shut down upon detecting the existence of another DC as that's a fully supported scenario. If it detects the existence of another SBS that's a different matter. Are you sure the new server is W2K8R2 and not SBS2K8?

Comment

Originally posted by joeqwerty View Post
        An SBS server shouldn't shut down upon detecting the existence of another DC as that's a fully supported scenario. If it detects the existence of another SBS that's a different matter. Are you sure the new server is W2K8R2 and not SBS2K8?
        Hi,