Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help with SBS2008 POP3

Hello Folks,

I am new to SBS and in fact have very limited experience with windows servers ( as a network engineer, I do have to set up IAS / IIS / FTP and have some experience in my old company setting up exchange and AD on windows 2000). So I do have lots of questions and hopefully you will not mind advising me on these.

1. We have a small office with about 6 PCs that are now connected as peer to peer network and have the email hosted thru external webhost, to which all the PCs ( XP SP2 with outlook) POP and SMTP. There are two contractor users, who also have email thru teh same domain and host.

2. Assume the domain name is mydomainname.com (actually it is 20 character long), so when I install SBS, I will not be able to use the same external domain name as internal domain name because of length. Also we were planning to initially utilize POP3 connector as part of SBS to download emails to SBS exchange from external email hosting company (by creating all 10 email accounts on the SBS exchange) and let it to supply the recieved emails to the users ( which will now become domain users).

So to start with, my internal domain name will be something like domain.local and external domain name is mydomainname.com, with user IDs of a.bcd.

I will create user accounts on SBS with something like abcd and it will then append local domain name to create email addresses in exchange to be [email protected]. Where will be the matching or one to one correspondent for internal email address to external email address take place? I hope this is set up under POP3 connector configuration.

The two contractors will not join domain and hence will continue using direct SMTP / POP to fetch their emails from external party. Believe we have SSL/SMTP presently set up.