Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• DNS & Active Directory Problems

Hi Guys,

My first post here, but I have read a lot of information on this site. Thanks for the great work you have all done.

I have had serious problems recently with my SBS 2003. I'm not a professional, but I'm trying hard to fill in the holes . Now it works... but I don't have a clue what happened, so maybe you can give me a few pointers. Unfortunately, the events are in french so I will translate them as good as I can.

The server was working fine for 6 months... and then, with no reason, I started to have the following errors :

Event ID1054
    Source Userenv
    Type Error
    Description Windows cannot obtain the domain controller name for your computer network. (<error description>). Group Policy processing aborted.

Event ID 2102
    Source MSExchangeDSAccess

The following error would come randomly, but the number of events increased in time :

Event ID 9154
    Source MSExchangeSA
    Type Error
    Description DSACCESS returned an error '<error code>' on DS notification. Microsoft Exchange System Attendant will re-set DS notification later.

And then finally, when the server (exchange wouldn't work, but user session authentification yes) started to really go nuts :

Event ID8026
    Source MSExchangeAL
    Type Error
    Description LDAP Bind was unsuccessful on directory <directory> for distinguished name ''.
    Directory returned error: [<error code>] <error details>.

And finally, what seems to me the be the origin of the problem : DNS errors.

Event ID4015
    Source DNS
    Type Error
    Description The DNS server has encountered a critical error from the Active Directory. Check that the Active Directory is functioning properly. The event data contains the error.

And errors 4000 & 4004.