Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• SBS 2003 - add clients from different network

Hi

We have an SBS 2003 on network 192.168.0.x Class C (site A); we have a remote site with 1 file server and 25 clients on network 172.16.0.x class C (site B). Both sites are connected through leased lines.

At the moment, these are 2 domains but I want to merge them to 1 domain.

Problem is that I cannot add the clients from site B into the domain of site A. I get the error : no connection can be made with domain controller in the domain xxxxxx . Check if the name is correct ...
    In site A all clients / servers are added into the domain so I guess it is a DNS problem but I do not know where to start.

The clients in site B are already using the exchange server and print server of site A, so connectivity is not the problem.

Can someone point me into the right direction.

Kind regards

Bert

Re: SBS 2003 - add clients from different network

I'm not an SBS expert but generally with windows migration, you'd need to setup a trust between the domains and used ADMT.

You'd then ensure DNS has conditional forwarders setup pointing at the other domain's DNS.

Comment

So it is not possible to add only the clients of site B in the domain of site A. I first need to migrate the server in site B to the domain of site A with ADMT?

Comment

Originally posted by bertk View Post
        So it is not possible to add only the clients of site B in the domain of site A. I first need to migrate the server in site B to the domain of site A with ADMT?
        You can do by removing them from the current domain and then joining them to the other domain but you then have to re-create user accounts etc. You would be best to migrate using ADMT.

Comment

Originally posted by Virtual View Post
          You can do by removing them from the current domain and then joining them to the other domain but you then have to re-create user accounts etc. You would be best to migrate using ADMT.