No announcement yet.

Windows 2003 Small Business Server - SQLSERVR taking lots of system resource

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Windows 2003 Small Business Server - SQLSERVR taking lots of system resource

Why is SQLSERVR taking so much memory? I'm new to server administration and I am having a bit of issues trying to ping point the issue why SQLServer is taking so much system resource? The information below was obtained from the Server Performance Report which is e-mail to me daily.

Top 5 Processes Memory Usage
    Process Name - ID Memory Usage
    sqlservr - 672 MB
    w3wp - 132 MB
    w3wp - 117 MB
    sqlservr - 78 MB
    services - 73 MB

Top 5 Processes by CPU Usage
    Process Name - ID CPU Time
    sqlservr - 4.5 %
    svchost - 0.9 %
    beserver - 0.7 %
    System - 0.4 %
    sqlservr - 0.4 %
    CompTIA A+, CompTIA N+, MS Windows 2000, MS Windows XP

Pursuing: CompTIA Security+, Server 2003

Re: Windows 2003 Small Business Server - SQLSERVR taking lots of system resource

That is normal for a SQL server due to its caching behaviour. Every time SQL Server needs to read a page from disk it caches the page in memory so that any disk underperformance won't affect its operations.

Ta
    Caesar's cipher - 3

ZKHQ BRX HYHQWXDOOB GHFLSKHU WKLV BRX ZLOO UHDOLVH LW ZDV D ZDVWH RI WLPH!

SFX JNRS FC U6 MNGR

Comment

Re: Windows 2003 Small Business Server - SQLSERVR taking lots of system resource

If it is SQL you can restrict the memory it uses I believe. MSDE is the same (i.e. LINK)
      cheers
      Andy

Please read this before you post:

Quis custodiet ipsos custodes?

Comment

Originally posted by AndyJG247 View Post
        If it is SQL you can restrict the memory it uses I believe. MSDE is the same (i.e. LINK)
        This SQL behaviour is by design and not a memory leak. I would not recommend restricting it as it might affect its performance.