Server keeps disconnecting

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Server keeps disconnecting

Hello all. I'm new to this forum and looking forward to some possible help (receiving it AND giving it) regarding a number of issues. The big one I'm dealing with today is in regards to SBS 2000. I'm new to server management (I've been doing a lot of reading and "practising" for about the last 6 months now) and I have just set up a new server at a local youth centre. A problem I've encountered involves the server randomly disconnecting from any of the 8 or so clients at any time. There's no order to it (seemingly) and it's rarely simultaneous. I've found on my computer there in particular I lose connection for one or two hours and then it's reestablished. I'm running both DNS and DHCP through the server. Has anyone run accross this problem before? Is there additional info I can provide? Thanks for your time!

Re: Server keeps disconnecting

How many workstations do you have connected to the network?
    How many CALs (Client Access Licences) do you have?
    How did you join the workstations to the Domain? Manually or did you use the Wizard?
    1 1 was a racehorse.
    2 2 was 1 2.
    1 1 1 1 race 1 day,
    2 2 1 1 2

Comment

I have a total of 9 workstations connected with 10 total licenses available. I joined all the workstations manually I suppose. they are all running Windows XP so I just went into the "my computer" properties and set them on our domain. Does that answer your questions or am I misunderstanding you? Thanks for your time!

Comment

Try ing "Autodisconnect" and see if that is related to your problem. Are your workstations members of the domain?
        TIA

Steven Teiger [SBS-MVP(2003-2009)]
        http://www.wintra.co.il/
        sigpic
        Iím honoured to have been selected for the SMB 150 list for 2013. This is the third time in succession (no logo available for 2011) that I have been honoured with this award.