Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Public Beta coming today

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Public Beta coming today

    Sometime today (28th May) you should be able to download the Public Beta of SBS 2008 (formerly known as Cougar) from www.MultiplyYourPower.com or www.microsoft.com/essential

    It should be about 10-11Gb on 4 DVDs.

    If you want to run it virtually, remember it 64-bit only.
    So it won't run on VirtualPC or Virtual Server.
    It will run on Hyper-V and VMWare
    And physical Hardware also, of course, that supports 64-bit processing, 4Gb RAM minimum recommended.
    TIA

    Steven Teiger [SBS-MVP(2003-2009)]
    http://www.wintra.co.il/
    sigpic
    Iím honoured to have been selected for the SMB 150 list for 2013. This is the third time in succession (no logo available for 2011) that I have been honoured with this award.

    We donít stop playing because we grow old, we grow old because we stop playing.

  • #2
    Re: Public Beta coming today

    Originally posted by teiger View Post
    Sometime today (28th May) you should be able to download the Public Beta of SBS 2008 (formerly known as Cougar) from www.MultiplyYourPower.com or www.microsoft.com/essential

    It should be about 10-11Gb on 4 DVDs.

    If you want to run it virtually, remember it 64-bit only.
    So it won't run on VirtualPC or Virtual Server.
    It will run on Hyper-V and VMWare
    And physical Hardware also, of course, that supports 64-bit processing, 4Gb RAM minimum recommended.

    Hi

    where can I gen Hyper V I checked for the download and I just get a .doc file.

    Do I get VMware workstation or VMware Server

    I know it would be VMware sever but I am not too sure.

    Thanks

    Andy

    Comment


    • #3
      Re: Public Beta coming today

      As far as I know you can only get Hyper V with certain editions of Server 2008, thats the only way to get it. As for the comment about running SBS 2008 on Vmware, I think he means the server product called ESX, which is a linux based OS, not the windows based Vmware server.

      Comment


      • #4
        Re: Public Beta coming today

        No, I think he means the free VMWare workstation version which supports the use of 64 bit software (free VMWare server version may also support 64bit but I am not familiar enough with it to say for sure). I just hope 4GB RAM on my 64bit server will be enough to run this puppy.
        1 1 was a racehorse.
        2 2 was 1 2.
        1 1 1 1 race 1 day,
        2 2 1 1 2

        Comment


        • #5
          Re: Public Beta coming today

          I have mine running in VMWARE workstation.

          A few early observations...

          It complains if you don't give the Virtual Machine 4gb RAM. It also complains if it finds another DHCP server on the network and refuses to run the Connect to the Internet Wizard.
          I ended up putting the virtual machine on to its own NAT network without DHCP enabled and it was happy.

          Be careful with WSUS - it is configured out of the box to store the updates locally.

          enon and register.com will be getting lots of business - I wonder how much they had to pay Microsoft to get on the list of domain name registrars for the auto domain configuration options. I wonder if the OEMs will be able to manipulate that list? Suddenly HP, Dell et al find themselves registering lots of domains.

          SSL certificates is a little easier, but I haven't worked out how to use the wizard to accept my commercial certificate. I ended up putting it in through the management consoles.

          It is referencing remote.domain.com - which I don't seem able to change, but I haven't looked to hard yet.

          The interface looks familiar if you have been using Windows Home Server.

          Simon.
          --
          Simon Butler
          Exchange MVP

          Blog: http://blog.sembee.co.uk/
          More Exchange Content: http://exchange.sembee.info/
          Exchange Resources List: http://exbpa.com/
          In the UK? Hire me: http://www.sembee.co.uk/

          Sembee is a registered trademark, used here with permission.

          Comment


          • #6
            Re: Public Beta coming today

            Oh crap about the 4GB RAM. Need to get more for the server.......STUFF!!

            Simon, what are the hardware specs you are running it on and how does it run on that? Early days I know as it is bound to change a bit, but I am curious.
            1 1 was a racehorse.
            2 2 was 1 2.
            1 1 1 1 race 1 day,
            2 2 1 1 2

            Comment


            • #7
              Re: Public Beta coming today

              The host chassis is a dual processor, quad core with 8gb of RAM running Windows 2003. Performance wise it isn't bad, but the host is also running an Exchange 2003 environment (two machines) an Exchange 2007 environment (three machines), so it isn't as bad as it could be.

              Already the noises coming out of the SBS community is that it is 4gb MINIMUM. Rather like the SBS 2003 512mb RAM requirement, which is generally laughed at. I suspect that once it gets going, 8gb RAM will probably be the de facto standard.

              A few more things I like... in the SBS Console there is actually links to move the data - rather than having to usual manual methods like with SBS 2003.

              Overall it looks very nice, makes SBS 2003 look a little tired.

              Simon.
              --
              Simon Butler
              Exchange MVP

              Blog: http://blog.sembee.co.uk/
              More Exchange Content: http://exchange.sembee.info/
              Exchange Resources List: http://exbpa.com/
              In the UK? Hire me: http://www.sembee.co.uk/

              Sembee is a registered trademark, used here with permission.

              Comment


              • #8
                Re: Public Beta coming today

                Hi

                I have a slight problem my SBS 2003 is 32bit. Is there anyway to bypass 32bit to 64bit to make SBS 2008 install.

                Thanks
                Andy

                Comment


                • #9
                  Re: Public Beta coming today

                  All SBS2003 servers are 32 bit and all 2008 SBS are 64 bit I'm afraid. There is no way to "skip" that.
                  cheers
                  Andy

                  Please read this before you post:


                  Quis custodiet ipsos custodes?

                  Comment


                  • #10
                    Re: Public Beta coming today

                    There are no in place upgrade options for SBS 2003. If you currently have SBS 2003 and want to upgrade to SBS 2008 it is an upgrade to separate hardware - which must be 64 bit compatible. Pretty much anything server specification that is less than two years old will be 64 bit compatible.

                    You are aware that this is a release candidate - not the finished product? Designed for testing and familiarisation only.

                    Simon.
                    --
                    Simon Butler
                    Exchange MVP

                    Blog: http://blog.sembee.co.uk/
                    More Exchange Content: http://exchange.sembee.info/
                    Exchange Resources List: http://exbpa.com/
                    In the UK? Hire me: http://www.sembee.co.uk/

                    Sembee is a registered trademark, used here with permission.

                    Comment


                    • #11
                      Re: Public Beta coming today

                      And in case it wasn't picked up (or known) VMWare supports 64bit virtualisations whereas Virtual Server 2005, at this stage, does not.

                      Thanks for that info Simon. I am surprised it runs so well with all the other bits you have on that Server. Looks like I am ordering the extra 4GB RAM in the morning. Perhaps I should make it 8GB just to be sure to be sure.
                      1 1 was a racehorse.
                      2 2 was 1 2.
                      1 1 1 1 race 1 day,
                      2 2 1 1 2

                      Comment


                      • #12
                        Re: Public Beta coming today

                        I run the system on multiple hard disks, which is the key from part experience. I have three disks in the machine - disk 1 is for the OS and has all of the ISOs for installation on it. Disk 2 and 3 each have virtual machines on them.

                        To make clear - VMWARE supports 64 bit OS under certain circumstances. The chip in the machine has to support 64 bit virtual machines. Having a machine that can support 64 bit is not enough. There is a link on the VMWARE web site to the Intel page that lists the current chips with the Virtual machine support.
                        In most cases you also have to enable the virtual machine support in the BIOS of the host machine.

                        Simon.
                        --
                        Simon Butler
                        Exchange MVP

                        Blog: http://blog.sembee.co.uk/
                        More Exchange Content: http://exchange.sembee.info/
                        Exchange Resources List: http://exbpa.com/
                        In the UK? Hire me: http://www.sembee.co.uk/

                        Sembee is a registered trademark, used here with permission.

                        Comment


                        • #13
                          Re: Public Beta coming today

                          Originally posted by Sembee View Post
                          The chip in the machine has to support 64 bit virtual machines. Having a machine that can support 64 bit is not enough. There is a link on the VMWARE web site to the Intel page that lists the current chips with the Virtual machine support.
                          In most cases you also have to enable the virtual machine support in the BIOS of the host machine.

                          Simon.
                          Yep, I fell foul of that! I checked the CPU on the INtel site and accordingly ordered an HP dx7400 machine with 8GB RAM - only to find that the MB/BIOS didn't support the virtualisation. I have now changed to an HP dc7800 with the same chip and memory - and itching to get Hyper-V installed and get started......
                          TIA

                          Steven Teiger [SBS-MVP(2003-2009)]
                          http://www.wintra.co.il/
                          sigpic
                          Iím honoured to have been selected for the SMB 150 list for 2013. This is the third time in succession (no logo available for 2011) that I have been honoured with this award.

                          We donít stop playing because we grow old, we grow old because we stop playing.

                          Comment


                          • #14
                            Re: Public Beta coming today

                            Originally posted by andysullman View Post
                            Hi

                            I have a slight problem my SBS 2003 is 32bit. Is there anyway to bypass 32bit to 64bit to make SBS 2008 install.

                            Thanks
                            Andy


                            I just tried it on a different pc and it is working fine It is still installing.
                            installing on VMWare
                            Let the bugs begin !!

                            Thanks

                            Andy

                            Comment


                            • #15
                              Re: Public Beta coming today

                              teiger - could you pass on some feedback to the product team, that really needs to get fixed.

                              The only way to get four green ticks (checks I think American's call them) in the network essentials is to have WSUS set to download updates locally.

                              Change it to download the updates from Microsoft (which is what I do with small sites) and you get this: "The software update configuration has been modified and no longer meets the recommended configuration."

                              Now I don't know about anyone else, but I am not about to have SBS download 45gb+ of updates for products the client will never use, just to get the four ticks. Such a waste of bandwidth particularly if you only have a small number of users. For those who operate in countries where the bandwidth is charged for - such as Australia - that will not go down well at all. It didn't do this with SBS 2003 and SUS/WSUS. Perhaps Microsoft are trying to save their bandwidth bills?
                              Last time I did the download here in the UK for a new system it took four days to download.

                              While you can limit the download and change it to only download in your language without getting the message, SBS doesn't stick to that completely. You will find your server downloading service packs for .net framework in a dozen or more languages, ditto for lots of other language packs.

                              WSUS is great once it is going, the problem is that initial synchronisation, particularly as I haven't found a way to copy the sync files around to save having to download the complete set every time.

                              Simon.
                              --
                              Simon Butler
                              Exchange MVP

                              Blog: http://blog.sembee.co.uk/
                              More Exchange Content: http://exchange.sembee.info/
                              Exchange Resources List: http://exbpa.com/
                              In the UK? Hire me: http://www.sembee.co.uk/

                              Sembee is a registered trademark, used here with permission.

                              Comment

                              Working...
                              X