X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New Server purchase

Hi guys newbie here

OK.. here goes...

The company i work for has an existing HP Dl380 with SBS 2003 SP1... it is the primary PDC, DNS, Mail Server, SQL server, File Server.

We have just Purchased a Brand New DL380 and plan to retire it from this office and send it to a sattelite office...

I need to do an in place migration of users, email accounts and dns from old to new... I have been doing research and my understanding is i need to add it to the domain as a secondry domain controller and it SHOULD replicate the user data at least to the new machine?? I have been looking for migration tools on the web but to no avail... i have found the microsoft tool to convert the mailboxes to .pst's for migration... I have already installed the new SBS and all of the drivers... but thought it prudent to give it a different domain name for the time being, having not read the posts regarding levels of domain controllers...

So my questions are as folllows :

A) Should i re install SBS on new machine and set it to the same domain.. will this force an election??
    B) Steps there after based on outcome of question A

My background is a origianlly programming but i have a fair understanding of networks etc and have setup workgroups but not domains... having said that i have filled the domain admin role for about 4 months and have a fair idea of what i am doing...

Any helps is appreciated and TIA

Re: New Server purchase

Just posting this BEFORE Steven can mention it. http://www.sbsmigration.com/ Swing Migration is the trouble free way of moving your setup from one server to the other. This way the server and domain name stay the same. You will find the Exchange really likes it that way.

Have a look and see what you think. The cost is minimal when compared to the time you will save.
    1 1 was a racehorse.
    2 2 was 1 2.
    1 1 1 1 race 1 day,
    2 2 1 1 2

Comment

Spoken like a true convert
      TIA