Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• newbie needs help with dns and dhcp

hi guys,

I'm fairly new at this, so pease be patient with me. I've tried searching the forums for the solution to my problem but nothing I've tried seems to work. I recently setup sbs 2003 at my uncle's real estate office. I have one server running sbs 2003 which is acting as the domain controller, dns server and dhcp server.

I setup active directory with dns integration using the dcpromo wizard and enabled dhcp through windows components, configured the scopes and authorized the service. I restarted the server, everything seems fine in event viewer except for oner error, which i'm posting below:

"The DNS server has encountered a critical error from the Active Directory. Check that the Active Directory is functioning properly. The extended error debug information (which may be empty) is "". The event data contains the error."

The above error is logged under dns server in the event viewer. Also, all my client machines are running windows xp sp2, but when i try to connect to the domain from these machines, i get an error message saying that request for the SRV records timed out since the dns server could not be contacted.

Could anyone please explain why this is happening. In the tcp/ip settings on the sbs machine, the preferred dns server is set to 127.0.0.1, so I setup the same ip as the preffered dns on the client machines, but I still cant seem to connect. I don't know what i'm missing here. If you guys need any additional information, please let me know.

Thanks for your hep.

Re: newbie needs help with dns and dhcp

127.0.0.1 is the "local loopback" address, so setting it on the clients will make them look at themselves for DNS -- not a good idea.

Since it is SBS, the wizard should do all of it for you, but ideally you will end up with: