Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• NEWBIE needs help setting up SBS 2003 so client machines can connect

Hi

I'm new to Small Business Server 2003 but have managed to install it and get the internet running and all the other general tasks that a computer needs. I have used the following to setup internet access on the server:

IP: 192.168.1.100
    Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway: 192.168.1.254

DNS Server: Have set as the default gateway as everytime I try to enter the IP address of the server I lose internet access.

So the issue I'm having is that when I go to a cleint machine and try to add it to the domain I receive the following message:

A domain controller for th domain new could not be contacted.

I'm typing the exact name which appears in AD (new.local)

Any help to solve this issue for a NEWBIE would be great.

Re: NEWBIE needs help setting up SBS 2003 so client machines can connect

Is DNS running on the server as it looks like that is the problem.

Comment

Yes I think this is the problem but I don't know how to check if this is the case?

Is their a easy to follow guide or wizard that will show me how to set it up or even to check that it is enabled?

Comment

I have managed to work out how to get the server to connect to the interent using isn't own IP address as the DNS and for it to forward other request to my ISPs DNS servers so that I can surf the internet.

But I still can't manage to connect a cleint machine to the server's domain.

Any ideas what I need to do?

Comment

Have you set this SBS server up manually (settings wise) or have you used the Wizards? If you used the Wizards then all the appropriate information can be entered when prompted for it.
          1 1 was a racehorse.
          2 2 was 1 2.
          1 1 1 1 race 1 day,
          2 2 1 1 2

Comment