Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

SBS 2003 client workstation cannot access the internet.

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• SBS 2003 client workstation cannot access the internet.

Hello everyone.
    It is my first time in this forum and I am pretty sure that this toping has been posted before.
    I came accross an answer to my question but didn't really help me.
    So here is my problems description.
    I am testing a SBS 2003 on a small office. I use two NIC cards.
    The external is connected on a wireless modem that runs a DHCP 192.168.0.1 range with an ip 192.168.0.10 and listens to an internal DNS that runs on the server with IP 192.168.16.2 ( the DNS forwards to the ISPs DNS).
    My internal NIC has an IP 192.168.16.2 which gets from the servers DHCP 192.168.16.1/24 its GATEWAY is "BLANK" and uses the local DNS 192.168.16.2.
    All my workstations are conected to the server through a 16 port switch.
    They use the 192.168.16.* IP their GATEWAY/DNS is "192.168.16.2".
    I run the ICW but it gives me an error message which I apologize I cannot remember now (but I will get it if needed it).
    My workstations can do nslookups but they cannot reach the internet.
    Can you walk me step by step through this process please cause I read many articles but to no avail.
    I will appreciate any help.
    Thanks.

Re: SBS 2003 client workstation cannot access the internet.

I can already tell this is a difficult enough situation that you are going to have to draw us a little picture AND post the link that didn't help AND post the error message if we're going to get anywhere. Unless someone has had a close enough scenario that you get an "instant winner", which I doubt -- kind of like taking the umbrella so it doesn't rain, I'm tempting the Computer Gods to solve this quickly
    Cheers,

Rick

** Remember to give credit where credit is due and leave reputation points sigpic where appropriate **