This topic is closed.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• NOD32 on SBS 2003

I have a new prospect for a customer and I did an assessment last week. I am going to present them with a report detailing my findings.

On an SBS server I have always installed Trend Micro, Symantec Enterprise or Symantec Corporate with clients on all the workstations. This customer has individual version of NOD32 on all the workstations and servers.

I tried to explain to them about cetralized anti virus management. I explained about the disadvantages of having weak links in the network when individuals become responsible for their own updates.

What's up with NOD32? What else can I tell these people? They are not hosting their own e-mail.

TIA
    Network Engineers do IT under the desk

Re: NOD32 on SBS 2003

Well there is an enterprise version and from what the stats say and from what I've heard, NOD32 is one of the best AV products out there... but I have no experience with it. And I guess another drawback/advantage is that they only do AV and nothing else, AFAIK.
    http://www.eset.com/products/enterprise_edition.php

http://www.av-comparatives.org/ (the URL says it all)
    Last edited by JeremyW; 17th December 2006, 05:00.
    Regards,
    Jeremy

Network Consultant/Engineer
    Baltimore - Washington area and beyond
    www.gma-cpa.com

Comment

I use NOD32 on my personal Windows XP machine after having tried numerous anti-virus products. NOD32 has great heuristics and uses virtually no resources compared to the competition. I can see very much why your customer is using NOD32, though I also believe that in a corporate network anti-virus should be centralized. As JeremyW said, take a look at the enterprise edition of NOD32 and see if it supports centralized anti-virus management.

Comment