Exchange with different static IP

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Exchange with different static IP

Hi, I am new with exchange server. Please help me on this one issue.
    I bought 2 static IP:
    1.1.1.1 for mail.mydomain.com.
    2.2.2.2 for www.mydomain.com.
    I have 3 NICs on my server.
    Internet-1.1.1.1 or 2.2.2.2
    DMZ-192.168.x.x
    Internal- 10.x.x.x
    How would I configure the "Internet" Nic so that I can host my web on DMZ with IP 2.2.2.2 and Exchange server with 1.1.1.1.
    Thank you for help.

Re: Exchange with different static IP

First, did I understand you correctly? Are you planning to host your WEB SITE on your Exchange server? Good luck. That's hardly a best practice.

As for the IPs, you can go to IIS and on each Web Site, change the IP it is listening to. Also do so for the SMTP VS inside ESM.

Last but not least, make sure the server has a proper routing table, an SMTP Connector that's using the right SMTP VS, and correct entries on your Firewall.
    Cheers,

Daniel Petri
    Microsoft Most Valuable Professional - Active Directory Directory Services
    MCSA/E, MCTS, MCITP, MCT

Comment

First let me thank you Daniel for helping me.
      --No, I do not want to host my webserver on the Exchange server. My exchange server is an SBS 2003 SP1. I have 3 Nics on it. Internet, DMZ, Corp.
      I have a 2k3 web server in the DMZ that i want to host my website with.
      I bought 2 IPs, one for www.mydomain.com and the other is mail.mydomain.com.
      So, how would I use the IP for (www.mydomain.com) and the IP for (mail.mydomain.com) at the same time on my SBS which has only one Nic to the internet. Thank you. I am very novice user at this. Please explain in detail if you would. Thank u again.

Comment

If it's an SBS then you should have posted this thread on the SBS forum. I'll move it there, next time try to find out the best forum to post your questions.
        Cheers,

Daniel Petri