Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• A secure guest wi-fi

Hello,

I am studying and came across to an author who talked about giving wifi access to people outside your company, as a "guest wifi".

Since my real experience was a while ago and now I am studying server stuff (Exchange, AD, ....) I hadn't thought about this.

I made a drawing regarding this guest wi-fi , which I attach.

Would that set-up be suitable and secure?

Thanks in advance!
    Attached Files
    -
    Madrid (Spain).

You can actually purchase devices that do this for you. We have SonicWALL SonicPoints at the moment and will be going to Aruba shortly.

But to answer your question yes it does depending on the configuration of your firewall.

Comment

Thanks a lot Wullieb.

1- What do you mean: "...devices that do this for you..." ? . I mean, a simple Access point would not do that ?, attached through a cable to the firewall?. I am not an expert, sorry if the question is too basic.

2- Would it be too much to ask for you to elaborate on "...depending on your firewall..." ? . I used to work with ISA Firewall, 2004 and 2006, and a bit with ForeFront.

Thanks!
      -
      Madrid (Spain).

Comment

[QUOTE=loureed4;n494409]1- What do you mean: "...devices that do this for you..." ? . I mean, a simple Access point would not do that ?, attached through a cable to the firewall?. I am not an expert, sorry if the question is too basic./QUOTE]

More advanced AP's can create multiple networks that you can segregate clients and staff into. Have a look at Aruba, Merwaki, etc.

Originally posted by loureed4 View Post
        2- Would it be too much to ask for you to elaborate on "...depending on your firewall..." ? . I used to work with ISA Firewall, 2004 and 2006, and a bit with ForeFront.