Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Internet connection leeched, can't find the source :(

Hi everyone,

I'm an IT support technician in a small school.

Recently at work our ADSL2 internet connection was thrashed till it's shaped to 64k by something or someone. Even though i changed the internet password, disconnected the gateway (linux) and just have the modem on, the downloads just kept going.

It finished around 2 Gigs of data each day ( roughly 150MB / hr)

We have 3 separate lines for internet. It's happening to two of them.
    We use a linux box as a proxy gateway and firewall. We have updated Antivirus on all the workstation and servers. We checked all possible venues and we're exhausted

I'm no security expert, but i know for sure it's not done from our internal network, we disconnected the gatewy and it kept going!

The internet provider said there's nothing they can do about it because it shows that our network is downloading those bytes.

My questions are :

1. Is it possible for someone to purposely do this? Can they flood our network in a way so it seems like we're downloading huge amount of files but never get to see them?

2. Our exchange server recently had problems with spam, even though the spams didn't flood the mail queus, could it be that those spams are responsible for the downloads?

3. What other steps can i take to find out if my network is secure from such attacks?

I don't know what to do, this is beyond my skills as a technician I appreciate your help.

Re: Internet connection leeched, can't find the source

When you say you disconnected the gateway then do you mean nothing is plugged into the router and it still shows as "downloading" data?

You can get a copy of Wireshark and track what is happening (assuming something is still connected). Your router may even show you connected IP addresses.
    cheers
    Andy

Please read this before you post:

Quis custodiet ipsos custodes?

Comment