Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Browser application

Hi

We have a browser based leads database running in house (written for us, not commercial) that connects to a SQL server, which publishes to a web site on IIS , pretty simple so far.

Is it possible to have outside connections to the Sql server to allow users to use the leads db whilst offsite,

Now we have the usual VPN 's etc but i would really like the users to type in a URL from any PC, like they do for web exchange, and get a connection. I assume we would be talking some port 443 ssl setup, but i'm no expert.

The data passed is not confidential in any way and would be next to useless to anyone.

Regards

Richard

Re: Browser application

Originally posted by Richie View Post
    Is it possible to have outside connections to the Sql server to allow users to use the leads db whilst offsite
    Yes, it is possible, but you really do not want to do that. Exposing SQL server directly to the Internet is a Bad Idea.

What kind of data needs your users need an access for? Could the web front-end be extended so that there would be additional page for displaying leads and whatnot from the database?

-vP

Comment

Even its a browser application, i would have thought it would only be http traffic going across, securely of course, how could that be damaging to the server, i'm no expert so please treat me like a novice. What do you mean by extending the web front end?

thanks

Richard

Comment

Originally posted by Richie View Post
        What do you mean by extending the web front end?
        Well, the connection requirement depends on what kind of access you want to provide. I first thought that you'd like to give an direct access to the SQL Server and allow using Query Analyzer or Enterprise Manager tools. That would be quite risky. Now that I re-read the op, I guess I misunderstood you.