No announcement yet.

enterprise admin

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• enterprise admin

I've been on the activedir mailling list and i've heard that it is possible for a domain admin to gain enterprise admin access. I know you can do this pyhsically from one of the root dc's and i know that MS considers the forest the security boundary NOT the domain but i was wondering how this can be done(is it through sidHistory- i think that was taken care of with sidFiltering).
    I ask because i'm an enterprise admin and the IT managers gave each local IT dept. a domain and made them all domain admins but NOT enterprise admins(management doesn't trust them enough for that).
    so i was wondering, how easy it would be for a domain admin to inject him/her self into the enterprise admin group in a win2k sp4 forest, root domain in native mode?

Activedir, ah ? (hi joe ! P)
    (well, I'm lurker too)

It's quite easy to elevate privileges from DA to EA if your DA ID is in the forest root domain.

The task of elevating privileges from child domain DA to EA is more tricky as you do not have access to the root domain DCs and have no write permissions over Config and Schema partitions.

One line of the attack I can think of is exploiting the SidHistory feature. More on this here:

Another way could be trying to run your own code in the EA context - something like adding your prog to HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run and wait till user with EA ID logs to the DC. When he logs to the DC, the code will run in EA admin context (and the code can add child domain DA ID to EA group).

I bet that there are many other ways to tackle this, but the bottom line is obvious: any DA in the forest can elevate himself to EA.
    Guy Teverovsky
    "Smith & Wesson - the original point and click interface"

Yeah, i use alot of joeware tools