not too good with a computer but need help

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• not too good with a computer but need help

Hi so i studyed as much as my eyes can take this forumn. Also searched on google this topic. I don't know if im allowed to ask this any more but I guess i will ask anyways. I have a HP computer and i had windows 95 then I installed Xp about 2 years ago. I'm not good with computers but I understand a little bit. My computer i useally always leave it on therefore i probably haven't logged off in a year. Stupid me downloaded a anti virus (not a fake one) and when it cheaked my disks and harddrives on a restart it logged me out and of course... i forgot my password.

I'v had my computer for years it has alot of important info on it so i dont want to loose everything. I was going to try to put the windows disk in it and to the repair option and press shift + f10 when it says installing devices, then i came to realize i have my bootable windows disk but i some how lost my product key. ( im not a scammer just a dumb blonde i guess)

so i will try to give you guys as much info as possible obviously to proof also that im not trying to get into a stolen computer jsut my computer but here ya go.

What operating system? Windows xp
    Domain or Workgroup? Um, Cable internet.
    Any other accounts with admin access? one account.

if anyone wants to contact me privetly on how to fix this my email is [email protected]
    if not write back on here

Re: not too good with a computer but need help

Try pressing CTRL + ALT + DELETE twice instrad of clicking on your username
    Enter ADMINISTRATOR for the user and try nothing for the password -- you might get in then you can change your account password

Tom
    Tom Jones
    MCT, MCSE (2000:Security & 2003), MCSA:Security & Messaging, MCDBA, MCDST, MCITP(EA, EMA, SA, EDA, ES, CS), MCTS, MCP, Sec+
    PhD, MSc, FIAP, MIITT
    IT Trainer / Consultant
    Ossian Ltd
    Scotland