Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Close to pulling my hair out if I don't gain access to my administrative account!!

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Close to pulling my hair out if I don't gain access to my administrative account!!

Hi to all, Ive looked through most of the posts on lost administrative passwords, and tried one solution. E.g. Reboot computer, press CTRL-ALT-DEl 2 times, then enter Administrator as username and leave password blank. However this method did not work for me as a message poped up saying something about no privilages. My Dell computer runs off Windows XP Home Edition, there are four usernames with only 3 of them that do not have administrative access but only me. Ive tried every password I can think of but just cannot get it right. I can access the internet from the other user accounts however I would really like to be able go on my account as I have some university work that can help me soon. Im no expert on computers apart from gaining a B in I.T at A-levels.

I would appreciate it if anyone could provide me with help and I hope I given the right and correct amount of imformation needed. Thanx

Re: Close to pulling my hair out if I don't gain access to my administrative account!

there are four usernames with only 3 of them that do not have administrative access but only me.
    I can't tell from this who has admin privs.

Your problem is 3 accounts can access the internet but not yours? Those 3 (Dad, Mum, ???) have admin rights, yes or no?

Sounds like you need to get one of them to help you out in this matter.

Accessing the internet is not tied to being an admin. Normal user accounts can do that too. Sounds like someone limited what your account can do.

BTW: Do not muck w/ the family PC. You will inevitably get caught.
    Cheers,

Rick

** Remember to give credit where credit is due and leave reputation points sigpic where appropriate **